klick on photos for larger
century old well was still being used in 1992
nest, estimated to weigh several hundred pounds
beautiful Baltic Sea at the northern border of Kreis Greifenberg
was always known for its' fine geese.
- There were 468 residents within 51 households, in Arnsberg in 1871.
The residents were members of
the Evangelical Church in Triebs. They included Labs, Lange, Ohm, Krause, Guhlke,
Butenhof, Folzke, Schwertfeger, Grasse, Spiering, Hoge, Malzahn, Korth,
Bohlman, Beilke, Schmechle and Schulz
- The population in 1932 was 459. There was an
Evangelical Church within the village in the mid 1800s. The owners of the estate in 1656
were Henning von Mellan's widow, Jochim Hans von Ploetz and Hans Albrecht
von Mellan. The residents of Adolfshof, Barkow, Koldemanz, and Vahnerow
belonged to the Batzwitz parish. photo by Bill Ammons
- covered an area of 1401 Hectars. The 600 residents of
Behlkow were Evangelicals in 1932. The pastor
of the church serviced many of the smaller villages in the area. The
estate owner was Amt Suckow and von Wachholz.
- The 143 residents of Borntin belonged to the Broitz Evangelical Church
parish. In 1655 the estate owner was Stade Treptow and Michel
Trineke was the mayor. Residents surnames in 1831 included Hannemann, Köpsel,
Benz, Kasten, Wartchow, Polzin, Erdmann, Scheer andWrench
- There were 851 residents in Broitz in 1932, 774 were Evangelicals and
21 were reformed. The Evangelical
residents had their own church within the village; In 1655, the village
owners were Michael von Maneuffel, Jürgen von Wachholtz, Sel. venz Monteufell, Christoff von Monteuffel's widow and Bogislaw Christoff von
Monteuffe. The Evangelical residents of Dummnadle, Prust, and
Wendish Pribbernow were a part of the Broitz Church parish. Photo by Bill Ammons
- The Evangelical residents of Gützelvitz, Nitznow,
Schruptow and Neides belonged to the parish of the Carnitz Evangelical
Church. The village was owned by the Pommern noble family
of the same name. In 1656 the occupants of the estate were Matthias,
Matthias Friedrich von Carnitz, and the widow von Carnitz,
nee Podewils. Some known residents of the village in 1656 were Hofmeister, Ohmb, Plack, Nordwich, Warner and Hafedank. A new church was being built
adjacent to the original church and the old church was being demolished
when I visited there in 1992.
The Carnitz Evangelical Church records were microfilmed
by the Mormons and are complete back to about 1765. (The
church on the left is the original Carnitz church. The church on the right
was built about 1992; photo by Bill Ammons.
- The population of the village was 613 in 1925; 600 were members of the
Evangelical church, 8 were Catholic, and the faith of the others is not
known. The residents of Darsow and Streckenthin were also a part of the
Dargislaff Evangelical Church parish.
- known as
Hohen-Drosedow, covered an area of about 20 acres. The population was 175 in 1932 and it was a church village. The Evangelical
residents belonged to the church in Wachholzhagen. In 1655 the estate
owners were Anna von Carnitz, nee Podewils, Joachim von Carnitz and Amt Treptow
- There were 135 residents in Eiersberg in 1932, and their home church was at
Kirchhagen-Wachholzhagen. In 1655, the estate owner was Amt Sülzhorst.
Jürgen Schelhorn was Mayor.
- There were 690 residents and 58 households in Glansee in 1870. They were all members of the Evangelical church in
covered an area of 1006 Hectars.
were about 7742 residents in the city of Greifenberg in 1932, of which 7549 were
members of the Evangelical Church, 110 were of Catholic faith, and 82 Reformed
Members. The residents of Lübsow and Schlellin were a part of the Greifenberg
Church parish. The city covered an area of about 1 by 1.6 miles. The Rega
River runs through Greifenberg and the city is often referred to as
"Greifenberg bei Rega." The photo at the far left is a close-up of
the photo to the right. The picture on the right is of the first baptismal font
in Kreis Greifenberg. church photos by Bill Ammons.
- The owner of the estate in 1666 was Obrist Eggert von Brüsewitz.
There were 264 residents in the village of Görke. The
Evangelicals had their own church within the village. Borntin and Wödtke also belonged to the
Görke parish. photo by Bill Ammons
- There were 196 residents in the village and he Evangelicals attended the Carnitz church. The estate owners in 1655 were Anna
von Carnitz, nee Podewils, Matthias Friedrich von Carnitz and Matthias von
Carnitz. In 1828 the owners included Kaufmann Wietzlow, of Stettin,
together with the
- The village had 57 households, which included 502 residents in 1870, and all
were Evangelicals except for 1 Jew. The village covered about 50 acres. The
Evangelical residents were a part of the Zarben parish during the mid'
1800s; The church pictured at the left was built later. photo by
- This picture at the right shows are the remains of the Evangelical
Church in Hof. It has been gradually washing away from the tides of the Baltic Sea. There is a legend related on a placard
near the church, "A priest caught a mermaid in the Sea and buried her
next to the church. Now the Sea has been washing away the shoreline
in a search for one of it's own."
- In 1932, there were 241 people living in Kirchhagen. Some
records indicate the "Mother Church" for the area was Kirchhagen
and some indicate it was in Wachholzhagen. The church most
likely was located where the land of Kirchhagen joined the land of
Wachholzhagen. The owner of
Kirchhagen was Amt Sülzhorst in 1655. photo by Bill Ammons.
-In 1871 there were 37 houses in Klätkow, which housed 47 families or
319 individuals. The village covered an area of 1153 hectars. Surnames
found in village records include Ohm, Kaun, Pape, Lübke, Brehmer, Haasch, Leipe, Ebert,
Kurth, Dumke, Zahn, Block, Hannemann, Scheredin, Töbe, Wefelow, Steffen,
Grehlmann, Grahlman, and Bruß.
- There were 296 people living in the village in 1932. The
Evangelical residents attended church in Batzwitz. In 1655, the
estate owners were Hasso Adam and Ewald Joachim von Flemming.
In 1666, the village was owned by Ewald Joachim, Caspar Joachim, Adrian
Heinrich and Eustachius von Flemming. In 1870, there were 185
residents within the 8 houses on the estate and 70 residents living
outside the estate proper in an additional 9 houses. In 1930 there were 296
residents, of which 266 were Evangelical Christians and 20 were Catholic.